To Wigan library and beyond: how to boost employability prospects

10 Oct

Today I did something that I’ve been putting off for quite some time, I joined the library.

Hardly controversial I know, but it signals a reluctant acceptance on my part that I’m staying put for the time being.

After I graduated in July 2010, I rather optimistically thought (hoped?) that after a couple of months I would land a job a media job and eventually work my way up the career ladder.

Although I was aware of the economic climate and the knock-on effect it had on the jobs market, I had no idea of just how tough it was, and still is, out there.

I wrote a feature on this very subject: Doles and degrees: The lost generation part two? for Manchester-based news website Mancunian Matters.

I was buoyed by Charlie Ball, the Deputy Director of Research at Higher Education Careers Services Unit (HESCU), who was optimistic for the future graduate market, but was all too aware of the warnings Dr Dalia Ben-Galim, Associate Director of IPPR, was issuing.

Her somewhat prophetic comments about high levels of youth unemployment triggering unrest seem particularly poignant, especially in the aftermath of the rioting seen across the country in August this year.

UK riots: mindless thuggery or legitimate protest?

So, 15 months since graduating I’m still in employment limbo. I am earning, but not in the field I’d love to work in.

I’ve had a taster in the form of studying for my NCTJ qualifications and numerous work placements, but getting that elusive paid media job is tantalisingly out of reach. For now.

So this morning, on a delightfully grim day weather-wise, I decided to don my waterproofs and go to the library to see what they had on offer. I was pleasantly surprised and left with the weight of a small child’s worth of books in order to initiate Operation Different Ways To Get That Job.

I chose one book based on what I thought was an incredibly pretentious title, Brilliant employability skills: How to stand out from the crowd in the graduate job market by Frances Trought.

In Trought’s defense it’s a really good read. I had a cursory glance at the first chapter over a cup of tea, and then couldn’t put it down.

It isn’t new ground-breaking information, but it really helped combine all the advice given during my time at university and throughout my post-graduate studies. It also showed examples of key recruitment terms in job application contexts. Well worth a read if you’re in the same boat as me careers-wise.

For now, it’s time to bury my nose into the pile of other books I checked-out and see where they lead. Onwards and upwards!

 

One Response to “To Wigan library and beyond: how to boost employability prospects”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When life gives you lemons… ask for tequila and salt « Just another wannabe hack - October 11, 2011

    […] I mentioned in yesterday’s post I spent a bleak Monday afternoon perusing the reference section of the library. Making time to focus […]

Leave a Reply

