Strictly catching up

9 Oct

One of the benefits of working a long Saturday shift is the promise of a self-indulgent Sunday catching-up with all the  TV programmes I’ve missed.

Having worked an 11-hour shift with no breaks – a new personal best (or worst) – I had missed out on a serious amount of guilty-pleasure television including Merlin, Strictly Come Dancing and The X Factor. Never mind food.

However it was all worth the effort as today, after a home-made Sunday roast (chicken and all the trimmings, if you’re curious) and an indulgent sticky toffee pudding for dessert, I plonked myself in front of the TV.

At the end of a five-hour marathon of TV viewing I felt numb with pixels. However my viewing highlight was Russell Grant’s performance on Strictly to Abba’s Dancing Queen. (If you haven’t seen it yet, please YouTube it, I guarantee it’ll make you smile.)

Feeling the groove: Russell Grant throwing some Strictly shapes

I beamed throughout his routine amid a flurry of frills, feather boas and sparkles. It proved to be the perfect antidote to a miserable few days job-hunting. Or scraping the barrel jobs-wise to be more precise.

This got me thinking, instead of moping around about the dire jobs market I need to diversify in my job-hunting quest. So, starting next week, I’m initiating Operation Different Ways To Get That Job. (It’s a working title.)

As well as chasing the slim-pickings that are out there I’m going to take a more pro-active approach to getting work. I have a few ideas up my sleeve, but I’m unsure whether I’m just experiencing post-X Factor/Strictly highs where it seems anything is possible.

At least my career lows are not being played out on national TV, unlike a certain Ms Currie. Again.

Leave a Reply

